

For immediate release: August 12, 2022

PRESS RELEASE

41st Convocation of Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad

The 41st Convocation of Indian Institute of Technology (Indian School of Mines) Dhanbad will be held on Saturday-Sunday, August 13-14, 2022 in the Penman Auditorium. His Excellency Shri Ramesh Bais, Governor of Jharkhand will be the Chief Guest of the function and will deliver the Convocation address on the 13th August 2022 while Mr. Debashish Bhattacharjee, Vice-President, Technology and New Materials Business, Tata Steel, Kolkata will be the Guest of Honour. Prof Prem Vrat, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT (ISM) Dhanbad will preside over the function. Prof Rajiv Shekhar, Director, IIT (ISM) will present report of the activities of the Institute.

The Convocation proceedings will begin at 10:00 a.m. The academic procession fully dressed in Convocation attire, will enter the hall for convocation ceremonies. This year, degrees will be conferred on **3637** scholars and students of 2019-20 and 2020-21 batches. Details are as follows:-

Degree Name	2019-20	2020-21	
Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.)	420	420	
B.E.	0	14	
B Tech	790	788	
5 Year Dual Degree	34	20	
Master of Technology (Under 5 - Years Integrated Program)	56	62	
Master of Science And Technology (3 Years)	106	83	
Master of Science	107	119	
Master of Technology (2 Years)	493	280	
Master of Technology (3 Years)	143	20	
Master of Business Administration (2 Years)	43	19	
Master of Business Administration (3 Years)	22	18	
Total	1794	1423	
Total Degrees including PhD for both the batches (2019-20 & 2020-21)	3637	3637	
Institute Gold Medals	59	55	
Institute Silver Medals	9	10	
President's Gold Medal	1	1	
Sponsored Medals/Prizes	16	16	
ISMAA Awards	2	2	

On the first day of the Convocation total 1978 degrees will be awarded while on the second day 1659 degrees will be awarded. Mr. Himanshu Bhusan Sandhibigrah (B. Tech, Electrical Engineering) will be awarded President's Gold Medal for 2019-20 batch, while Mr. Ajit Kumar (B. Tech, Computer Science & Engineering) will receive the President's Gold Medal for 2020-21 batch during the function. The President's Gold Medal was introduced during the 40th Convocation held in 2019 and is awarded to a student admitted through JEE advanced who has scored highest CGPA/OGPA.

The complete list of recipients of degrees (Disciplines/Department wise) is given in the Convocation Brochure. The other contents of the brochure include Director's Report, Address by the Chief Guest, and Address by the Chairman, BoG.

Rajni Singh

Dean (Media & Branding)